Home Lifestyle Three Different Religious Practices that are Sacred.

Three Different Religious Practices that are Sacred.

Three Different Religious Practices that are Sacred
Image by HollyGirl18 from Pixabay

All religions are beautiful and unique in their forms of worship and practices. Despite many relating in certain factors, they are all different. There are often obligatory practices for each religion that the believers practice regularly on assigned occasions; however, these three religious practices are incredibly important and sacred to these different religions. 

These practices are sacred. However, these practices are not performed by many believers despite their importance due to certain circumstances.

Sabbath (Judaism):

Sabbath is a unique practice that is unique to the Jewish religion that is practiced every week. Often many Jews, unfortunately, ignore this practice and is commonly only practiced by religious Jews. The Sabbath is a holy day that occurs every single week, commencing from the nightfall of Friday to the coming nightfall of Saturday, lasting around 25 hours each week.

Sabbath candles
Photo by Diana Polekhina on Unsplash

The Sabbath is commanded directly from God in the Ten Commandments for Jews to observe. Sabbath is a day of rest that stems from the story of how God created the universe, and it is believed by Jews that God rested on the seventh day of the first week, and therefore Jews are instructed to rest as well.

Jewish people observe this holy day by abstaining from engaging in watching television, work, and labor, rushing to demands and other stuff, and stressing about stuff. Errands and chores are expected to be completed before Sabbath commences as it is looked down upon to continue these on the day of Sabbath.

They observe it by engaging in calming activities and spending lots of time with their loved ones and family, dressing up in suitable clothing. They light candles as a part of the ritual and eat wonderful food, enjoying their time. 

Qurbani (Islam):

This religious ritual is extremely sacred and important in the religion of Islam and is observed on one specific day of every Islamic Lunar year. Qurbani is the title given to this practice of animal scarification for God that Muslims before during the joyous festival of Eid Al-Adha after they complete their Eid prayers.

This practice comes at the end of a chain of different practices performed for the Holy pilgrimage of Hajj. Although not all Muslims can engage in the other rituals of Hajj, they are all globally required to perform Qurbani as a seal of the Pilgrimage. 

Image by S. Hermann & F. Richter from Pixabay

This practice derives from the father of all the Abrahamic religions, Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham). Muslims commemorate the life of Prophet Ibrahim (AS) by engaging in Hajj and Qurbani. It is believed that Ibrahim (AS) was to sacrifice his young son Ismaeel (AS) to God; however, before Ibrahim (AS) could sacrifice his son, God sent done a goat in his place. God did this as he saw the true belief, trust, and devotion that both Prophet Ibrahim (AS) and his son had in him, and so an animal was offered instead of his son.

Muslims sacrifice a range of different animals, most commonly a goat for Qurbani, which is a form of dedication and worship to God. The meat obtained is distributed amongst those in poor conditions as a form of charity and good action. Qurbani 2021 is easier than ever as there are many organizations that can complete Qurbani on your behalf with a donation.

Baptism (Christianity):

Baptism is a sacred ritual the Christians engage in, all doing it at different stages of their life. Baptism is a form of surrender and complete devotion to God; it is also a celebration that is dedicated to the glorification of God. 

Baptizing someone is seen as a seal of a relationship between yourself and God. Catholics engage in this practice when they are young infants; however, other Christians practice the ritual differently according to their interpretation. 

A baptism performed on an infant is done by the cross being signed with the hand with oil. The child is sprinkled with holy water, symbolizing their baptism.

Older individuals complete this ritual later in life instead of when they are an infant. They perform this baptism ritual in complete immersion while fully submerged in a pool of water three times. This symbolizes for them a new life with Christ.

I hope this piece was insightful to you.

Featured Image by HollyGirl18 from Pixabay